[edk2-devel] [RFC] Request to move MinPlatformPkg out of the Intel folder


christian.walter@...
 

Hi Nate,

totally agree with you.

Best,

Chris

On 10/1/20 9:43 AM, Wim Vervoorn wrote:
Hi Nate,

I agree this sounds like a good plan. The MinPlatform should be as generic as possible and suitable for all architectures.

In fact it is similar to the UEFIPayload package wich is also standalone.

Best Regards,
Wim Vervoorn

Eltan B.V.
Ambachtstraat 23
5481 SM Schijndel
The Netherlands

T : +31-(0)73-594 46 64
E : wvervoorn@eltan.com
W : http://www.eltan.com


"This message contains confidential information. Unless you are the intended recipient of this message, any use of this message is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please immediately notify the sender by telephone +31-(0)73-5944664 or reply email, and immediately delete this message and all copies."


-----Original Message-----
From: rfc@edk2.groups.io [mailto:rfc@edk2.groups.io] On Behalf Of Nate DeSimone
Sent: Thursday, October 1, 2020 1:17 AM
To: devel@edk2.groups.io; rfc@edk2.groups.io
Cc: Leif Lindholm <leif@nuviainc.com>; Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>; Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@arm.com>; Kirkendall, Garrett <garrett.kirkendall@amd.com>; Lendacky, Thomas <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>; thomas.abraham@arm.com; Frank.Orr@dell.com; Jim Dailey <jim.dailey@dell.com>; Abner Chang <abner.chang@hpe.com>; Wang, Sunny (HPS SW) <sunnywang@hpe.com>; Daniel Schaefer <daniel.schaefer@hpe.com>; Liming Gao <gaoliming@byosoft.com.cn>; Tim Lewis <tim.lewis@insyde.com>; Kevin@Insyde <kevin.davis@insyde.com>; Felix Polyudov <felixp@ami.com>; Kinney, Michael D <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>; Oram, Isaac W <isaac.w.oram@intel.com>; Ni, Ray <ray.ni@intel.com>
Subject: [edk2-rfc] [RFC] Request to move MinPlatformPkg out of the Intel folder

Hi Everyone,

This has come up informally a couple of times already, but I do think that it would be beneficial to move MinPlatformPkg out of the Platform/Intel folder and into a vendor neutral folder. MinPlatform really isn't Intel specific, it's just "middleware" that is intended to make it easier and faster to build EDK II based firmware. We have always intended MinPlatform to be vendor neutral, and it would be great to see MinPlatform based implementations for non-Intel silicon. Anyone working with EDK II should feel welcome to work with us on MinPlatform, regardless of the SoC in use.

To that end, I propose that we move MinPlatformPkg out of edk2-platforms/Platform/Intel to edk2-platforms/Platform/MinPlatformPkg. It might also make sense to move edk2-platforms/Platform/Intel/Tools and edk2-platforms/Platform/Intel/build_bios.py to edk2-platforms/Platform as well since those are all useful for building MinPlatform based firmware, but I could also see that being something for another time. Let me know what you think!

Thanks,
Nate













--
*Christian Walter*
*Head of Firmware Development / Cyber Security *



9elements GmbH, Kortumstraße 19-21, 44787 Bochum, Germany
Email:  christian.walter@9elements.com
Phone:  _+49 234 68 94 188 <tel:+492346894188>_
Mobile:  _+49 176 70845047 <tel:+4917670845047>_

Sitz der Gesellschaft: Bochum
Handelsregister: Amtsgericht Bochum, HRB 17519
Geschäftsführung: Sebastian Deutsch, Eray Basar

Datenschutzhinweise nach Art. 13 DSGVO <https://9elements.com/privacy>