Re: [RFC] Request to move MinPlatformPkg out of the Intel folder


Kirkendall, Garrett
 

We have recently been evaluating the merits of MinPlatformPkg. We would welcome a MinPlatformPkg that is more accessible.

GARRETT KIRKENDALL
SMTS Firmware Engineer
7171 Southwest Parkway, Austin, TX 78735 USA
AMD   facebook  |  amd.com

-----Original Message-----
From: Desimone, Nathaniel L <nathaniel.l.desimone@intel.com>
Sent: Wednesday, September 30, 2020 6:17 PM
To: devel@edk2.groups.io; rfc@edk2.groups.io
Cc: Leif Lindholm <leif@nuviainc.com>; Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>;
Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@arm.com>; Kirkendall, Garrett
<Garrett.Kirkendall@amd.com>; Lendacky, Thomas
<Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com>; thomas.abraham@arm.com;
Frank.Orr@dell.com; Jim Dailey <jim.dailey@dell.com>; Abner Chang
<abner.chang@hpe.com>; Wang, Sunny (HPS SW) <sunnywang@hpe.com>;
Daniel Schaefer <daniel.schaefer@hpe.com>; Liming Gao
<gaoliming@byosoft.com.cn>; Tim Lewis <tim.lewis@insyde.com>;
Kevin@Insyde <kevin.davis@insyde.com>; Felix Polyudov
<felixp@ami.com>; Kinney, Michael D <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>; Oram,
Isaac W <isaac.w.oram@intel.com>; Ni, Ray <ray.ni@intel.com>
Subject: [RFC] Request to move MinPlatformPkg out of the Intel folder

[CAUTION: External Email]

Hi Everyone,

This has come up informally a couple of times already, but I do think that it
would be beneficial to move MinPlatformPkg out of the Platform/Intel folder
and into a vendor neutral folder. MinPlatform really isn't Intel specific, it's
just "middleware" that is intended to make it easier and faster to build EDK II
based firmware. We have always intended MinPlatform to be vendor
neutral, and it would be great to see MinPlatform based implementations for
non-Intel silicon. Anyone working with EDK II should feel welcome to work
with us on MinPlatform, regardless of the SoC in use.

To that end, I propose that we move MinPlatformPkg out of edk2-
platforms/Platform/Intel to edk2-platforms/Platform/MinPlatformPkg. It
might also make sense to move edk2-platforms/Platform/Intel/Tools and
edk2-platforms/Platform/Intel/build_bios.py to edk2-platforms/Platform as
well since those are all useful for building MinPlatform based firmware, but I
could also see that being something for another time. Let me know what you
think!

Thanks,
Nate

Join rfc@edk2.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.