[PATCH v4 0/7] New MM Communicate header and interfaces


Kun Qin
 

REF: https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3430

This patch series is a rebase of previous submission:
https://edk2.groups.io/g/devel/message/79397

The patches introduced MM communicate interface v3 (both protocol and
PPI) to consume the corresponding new header structure. The new structure
fixed ambiguious data field size caused by UINTN, as well as integrated
flexible arrays for data fields, while maintaining the backwards
compatibility for all existing codebases. A specified GUID is used to
differentiate old MM headers from newly defined v4 header.

The specification change is also included in this patch series v4, where
the standalone MM IPL in PEI phase is specified to install new PPI v4
after setting MM foundation.

Compared to v3 series, v4 patch changes include:
a. Rebased with uncrustify changes;

Patch v4 branch: https://github.com/kuqin12/edk2/tree/BZ3398-MmCommunicate-Length-v4

Cc: Michael D Kinney <michael.d.kinney@...>
Cc: Liming Gao <gaoliming@...>
Cc: Zhiguang Liu <zhiguang.liu@...>
Cc: Andrew Fish <afish@...>
Cc: Leif Lindholm <leif@...>
Cc: Hao A Wu <hao.a.wu@...>
Cc: Marvin Häuser <mhaeuser@...>
Cc: Bret Barkelew <Bret.Barkelew@...>
Cc: Michael Kubacki <michael.kubacki@...>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb+tianocore@...>
Cc: Sami Mujawar <sami.mujawar@...>
Cc: Jiewen Yao <jiewen.yao@...>
Cc: Supreeth Venkatesh <supreeth.venkatesh@...>
Cc: Jian J Wang <jian.j.wang@...>
Cc: Eric Dong <eric.dong@...>
Cc: Ray Ni <ray.ni@...>

Kun Qin (7):
EDK2 Code First: PI Specification: New communicate header and
interfaces
MdePkg: MmCommunication: Introduce EFI_MM_COMMUNICATE_HEADER_V3 to
MdePkg
MdePkg: MmCommunication: Introduce EFI_MM_COMMUNICATION3_PROTOCOL to
MdePkg
MdePkg: MmCommunication: Introduce EFI_PEI_MM_COMMUNICATION3_PPI to
MdePkg
MdeModulePkg: PiSmmCore: Added parser of new MM communicate header
StandaloneMmPkg: StandaloneMmCore: Parsing new MM communicate header
MdeModulePkg: PiSmmIpl: Update MessageLength calculation for
MmCommunicate

MdeModulePkg/Core/PiSmmCore/PiSmmCore.c | 51 ++--
MdeModulePkg/Core/PiSmmCore/PiSmmIpl.c | 190 ++++++++++++++
StandaloneMmPkg/Core/StandaloneMmCore.c | 35 ++-
CodeFirst/BZ3430-SpecChange.md | 277 ++++++++++++++++++++
MdeModulePkg/Core/PiSmmCore/PiSmmCore.inf | 1 +
MdeModulePkg/Core/PiSmmCore/PiSmmIpl.inf | 2 +
MdePkg/Include/Pi/PiMultiPhase.h | 57 ++++
MdePkg/Include/Ppi/MmCommunication3.h | 57 ++++
MdePkg/Include/Protocol/MmCommunication3.h | 70 +++++
MdePkg/MdePkg.dec | 11 +
StandaloneMmPkg/Core/StandaloneMmCore.inf | 1 +
11 files changed, 730 insertions(+), 22 deletions(-)
create mode 100644 CodeFirst/BZ3430-SpecChange.md
create mode 100644 MdePkg/Include/Ppi/MmCommunication3.h
create mode 100644 MdePkg/Include/Protocol/MmCommunication3.h

--
2.34.1.windows.1

Join devel@edk2.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.