Re: [PATCH] OvmfPkg/BhyveBhfPkg: install bhyve's ACPI tables


Yao, Jiewen
 

Acked-by: Jiewen Yao <Jiewen.yao@intel.com>

-----Original Message-----
From: devel@edk2.groups.io <devel@edk2.groups.io> On Behalf Of Peter
Grehan
Sent: Thursday, October 14, 2021 1:42 PM
To: Köhne, Corvin <c.koehne@beckhoff.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb+tianocore@kernel.org>; Yao, Jiewen
<jiewen.yao@intel.com>; Justen, Jordan L <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>; Gerd
Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>; Rebecca Cran <rebecca@bsdio.com>;
devel@edk2.groups.io; Kinney, Michael D <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>;
Liming Gao <gaoliming@byosoft.com.cn>; Liu, Zhiguang
<zhiguang.liu@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [edk2-devel] [PATCH] OvmfPkg/BhyveBhfPkg: install bhyve's ACPI
tables

It's much easier to create configuration dependend ACPI tables for > bhyve
than for OVMF. For this reason, don't use the statically>
created ACPI tables provided by OVMF. Instead use the dynamically>
created ACPI tables of bhyve. If bhyve provides no ACPI tables or> we
are unable to detect those, fall back to OVMF tables.
This looks fine though bhyve will need to generate MCFG to get to full
parity.

I've requested in the past that you do this so I'll request again:
please discuss these changes on the freebsd-virtualization list before
sending patches outside of the project.

Acked-by: Peter Grehan <grehan@freebsd.org>

later,

Peter.



Join devel@edk2.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.