Re: [PATCH v2 07/11] OvmfPkg/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe: call VerifyBlob after fetch from fw_cfg


Dov Murik
 

On 19/07/2021 18:57, Tom Lendacky wrote:
On 7/6/21 3:54 AM, Dov Murik wrote:
In QemuKernelLoaderFsDxeEntrypoint we use FetchBlob to read the content
of the kernel/initrd/cmdline from the QEMU fw_cfg interface. Insert a
call to VerifyBlob after fetching to allow BlobVerifierLib
implementations to add a verification step for these blobs.

This will allow confidential computing OVMF builds to add verification
mechanisms for these blobs that originate from an untrusted source
(QEMU).

The null implementation of BlobVerifierLib does nothing in VerifyBlob,
and therefore no functional change is expected.

Cc: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb+tianocore@kernel.org>
Cc: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
Cc: Ashish Kalra <ashish.kalra@amd.com>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>
Cc: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Jiewen Yao <jiewen.yao@intel.com>
Cc: Min Xu <min.m.xu@intel.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Ref: https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3457
Co-developed-by: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Dov Murik <dovmurik@linux.ibm.com>
---
OvmfPkg/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe.c | 9 +++++++++
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)

diff --git a/OvmfPkg/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe.c b/OvmfPkg/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe.c
index c7ddd86f5c75..b43330d23b80 100644
--- a/OvmfPkg/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe.c
+++ b/OvmfPkg/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe/QemuKernelLoaderFsDxe.c
@@ -17,6 +17,7 @@
#include <Guid/QemuKernelLoaderFsMedia.h>
#include <Library/BaseLib.h>
#include <Library/BaseMemoryLib.h>
+#include <Library/BlobVerifierLib.h>
#include <Library/DebugLib.h>
#include <Library/DevicePathLib.h>
#include <Library/MemoryAllocationLib.h>
@@ -1039,6 +1040,14 @@ QemuKernelLoaderFsDxeEntrypoint (
if (EFI_ERROR (Status)) {
goto FreeBlobs;
}
+ Status = VerifyBlob (
+ CurrentBlob->Name,
+ CurrentBlob->Data,
+ CurrentBlob->Size
+ );
Just a nit, but the ");" should be under the "C" in CurrentBlob.
It's a sad winking face... I'll fix.

Thanks,
-Dov



Thanks,
Tom

+ if (EFI_ERROR (Status)) {
+ goto FreeBlobs;
+ }
mTotalBlobBytes += CurrentBlob->Size;
}
KernelBlob = &mKernelBlob[KernelBlobTypeKernel];

Join devel@edk2.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.