Re: [PATCH v2 1/8] MdePkg: Fix IORT header file include guard


Sami Mujawar
 

Hi Mike,

I agree the use of the include guard is not consistent across edk2 code and it may be better to fix them all at once. However, if we decide to use '#pragma once', then the edk2 coding standard specification would need to be updated first. Similarly, the ECC tool would also need to be updated.

I can drop this change for now. Please let me know how you wish to proceed.

Regards,

Sami Mujawar

´╗┐On 17/06/2021, 19:19, "devel@edk2.groups.io on behalf of Michael D Kinney via groups.io" <devel@edk2.groups.io on behalf of michael.d.kinney=intel.com@groups.io> wrote:

Hi Sami,

The include guard pattern is present everywhere. No sure it makes sense to start fixing these one at a time.

The #pragma once may be a better long term solution and may improve build times slightly.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pragma_once

Best regards,

Mike

-----Original Message-----
> From: Sami Mujawar <sami.mujawar@arm.com>
> Sent: Thursday, June 17, 2021 2:56 AM
> To: devel@edk2.groups.io
> Cc: Sami Mujawar <sami.mujawar@arm.com>; Alexei.Fedorov@arm.com; ardb+tianocore@kernel.org; Matteo.Carlini@arm.com;
> Ben.Adderson@arm.com; Kinney, Michael D <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>; gaoliming@byosoft.com.cn; Liu, Zhiguang
> <zhiguang.liu@intel.com>; Ni, Ray <ray.ni@intel.com>; Gao, Zhichao <zhichao.gao@intel.com>; nd@arm.com
> Subject: [PATCH v2 1/8] MdePkg: Fix IORT header file include guard
>
> According to section 5.3.5, EDK II C Coding Standards Specification
> (https://edk2-docs.gitbook.io/edk-ii-c-coding-standards-specification)
> the header file guard names must not be prefixed with underscores as
> they are reserved for compiler implementation.
>
> Therefore, fix the header file include guard as per the specification
> guidelines.
>
> Signed-off-by: Sami Mujawar <sami.mujawar@arm.com>
> ---
>
> Notes:
> v2:
> - No code change since v1. Re-sending with v2 series. [SAMI]
>
> MdePkg/Include/IndustryStandard/IoRemappingTable.h | 4 ++--
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/MdePkg/Include/IndustryStandard/IoRemappingTable.h b/MdePkg/Include/IndustryStandard/IoRemappingTable.h
> index 90504e3a6715be7facc6450c6ff0e1eab92cd3c7..731217441438a00dd5ff0bedf2010598d48d6dbf 100644
> --- a/MdePkg/Include/IndustryStandard/IoRemappingTable.h
> +++ b/MdePkg/Include/IndustryStandard/IoRemappingTable.h
> @@ -9,8 +9,8 @@
> SPDX-License-Identifier: BSD-2-Clause-Patent
> **/
>
> -#ifndef __IO_REMAPPING_TABLE_H__
> -#define __IO_REMAPPING_TABLE_H__
> +#ifndef IO_REMAPPING_TABLE_H_
> +#define IO_REMAPPING_TABLE_H_
>
> #include <IndustryStandard/Acpi.h>
>
> --
> 'Guid(CE165669-3EF3-493F-B85D-6190EE5B9759)'

Join devel@edk2.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.