Re: [PATCH v1 1/1] ShellPkg: Display VENDOR_ID in ASCII when parsing PPTT


Krzysztof Koch
 

Hi Jaben and Ray,

I understand that currently very few platforms support PPTT. Anyway, I believe this is a minor change which involves reusing existing code.

Is there a way I can help you to get this patch merged?

Kind regards

-----Original Message-----
From: devel@edk2.groups.io <devel@edk2.groups.io> On Behalf Of Gao, Zhichao via Groups.Io
Sent: Thursday, May 9, 2019 4:39
To: devel@edk2.groups.io; Krzysztof Koch <Krzysztof.Koch@arm.com>; Gao, Liming <liming.gao@intel.com>
Cc: Carsey, Jaben <jaben.carsey@intel.com>; Ni, Ray <ray.ni@intel.com>; Sami Mujawar <Sami.Mujawar@arm.com>; Girish Pathak <Girish.Pathak@arm.com>; Pierre Gondois <Pierre.Gondois@arm.com>; Matteo Carlini <Matteo.Carlini@arm.com>; Stephanie Hughes-Fitt <Stephanie.Hughes-Fitt@arm.com>; nd <nd@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [edk2-devel] [PATCH v1 1/1] ShellPkg: Display VENDOR_ID in ASCII when parsing PPTT

The patch looks good for me.
And make the Vender Id to be ASCII format make more sense than hex data format depend on the info in https://uefi.org/ACPI_ID_List?search.
I'd like to test it on some real open platform. But seems most platforms do not install PPTT.

By the way I can't 'am' your patch directly. I extract your patch form email with some warning. Maybe it is because of your addition info below Signed-off-by tag.
Without that.
Reviewed-by: Zhichao Gao <zhichao.gao@intel.com>

Thanks,
Zhichao

-----Original Message-----
From: devel@edk2.groups.io [mailto:devel@edk2.groups.io] On Behalf Of
Krzysztof Koch
Sent: Wednesday, May 8, 2019 9:14 PM
To: devel@edk2.groups.io
Cc: Carsey, Jaben <jaben.carsey@intel.com>; Ni, Ray
<ray.ni@intel.com>; Sami.Mujawar@arm.com; Girish.Pathak@arm.com;
Pierre.Gondois@arm.com; Matteo.Carlini@arm.com; Stephanie.Hughes-
Fitt@arm.com; nd@arm.com
Subject: [edk2-devel] [PATCH v1 1/1] ShellPkg: Display VENDOR_ID in
ASCII when parsing PPTT

The ID Type Structure (Type 2) inside the Processor Properties
Topology Table (PPTT) has a VENDOR_ID field which identifies the node
vendor. The approved values are listed in the ACPI ID Registry and
they are meant to be interpreted as arrays of ASCII characters.

This change to the acpiview parser for PPTT aims to reflect that.

Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Koch <krzysztof.koch@arm.com>
---

The changes can be seen at:
https://github.com/KrzysztofKoch1/edk2/tree/woa_500_print_vendor_id_a
scii_v1

Notes:
v1:
- Display VENDOR_ID in ASCII [Krzysztof]


ShellPkg/Library/UefiShellAcpiViewCommandLib/Parsers/Pptt/PpttParser.c
| 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git
a/ShellPkg/Library/UefiShellAcpiViewCommandLib/Parsers/Pptt/PpttParser.
c
b/ShellPkg/Library/UefiShellAcpiViewCommandLib/Parsers/Pptt/PpttParser.
c
index
c6588a12b4639f2bf6f0953d98410befbab66e31..ffcc53cda7d8df1d2f0787c1b4b
1d30de87ac854 100644
---
a/ShellPkg/Library/UefiShellAcpiViewCommandLib/Parsers/Pptt/PpttParser.
c
+++
b/ShellPkg/Library/UefiShellAcpiViewCommandLib/Parsers/Pptt/PpttPars
+++ er.c
@@ -150,7 +150,7 @@ STATIC CONST ACPI_PARSER IdStructureParser[] = {
{L"Length", 1, 1, L"%d", NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL},
{L"Reserved", 2, 2, L"0x%x", NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL},

- {L"VENDOR_ID", 4, 4, L"0x%x", NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL},
+ {L"VENDOR_ID", 4, 4, NULL, Dump4Chars, NULL, NULL, NULL},
{L"LEVEL_1_ID", 8, 8, L"0x%x", NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL},
{L"LEVEL_2_ID", 8, 16, L"0x%x", NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL},
{L"MAJOR_REV", 2, 24, L"0x%x", NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL},
--
'Guid(CE165669-3EF3-493F-B85D-6190EE5B9759)'


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The contents of this email and any attachments are
confidential and may also be privileged. If you are not the intended
recipient, please notify the sender immediately and do not disclose
the contents to any other person, use it for any purpose, or store or
copy the information in any medium. Thank you.

Join devel@edk2.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.